Our Team

We are a group of volunteers, passionate about writing on issues that matter. Our international team includes students across majors, interests and disciplines involved on a semesterly and yearly basis during our studies at JCU.  

Our structure is made up of the board, which includes the president, editor in chief, and social media manager. Our members include staff writers, copy editors, layout designers, a podcast team, and special contributors.

Our team is advised and supervised by a JCU professor.


Meet the Board

Giorgia Rifaldi

President

English Literature Major, Senior

Pavia, Italy

“Shaggy from Scooby Doo once gave me cupcakes.”

grifaldi@johncabot.edu

Vittoria Maione

Social Media Manager

Political Science and Psychology Major, Junior

Napoli, Italy

“I spend most of my days watching true crime shows.”

vmaione@johncabot.edu

Caitlyn Davis

Editor in Chief

Communications Major, Junior

Stuttgart, Germany

“Buying a Boat is one of my life goals.”

cdavis@johncabot.edu

Francesca Cucuzza

Website Manager

Marketing Major, Junior

Rome, Italy

“I’m 24/7 with my earphones on, or playing background music in my head.”

fcucuzza@johncabot.edu


Copy Editors

Marilù Ciabattoni (Mary Lou)

English Literature Major, Senior

Ascoli Piceno, Italy

“I have a not-so-mild obsession with New York City.”

mciabattoni@johncabot.edu

Idone Rhodes

Undecided Major, Freshman (Visiting Student)

Newton, Massachusetts

“I’ve met the actress who plays Faith on Buffy the Vampire Slayer, which is my favorite TV show.”

Beatrice Biada

English Literature Major, Senior

Rome, Italy

“I love the sea, books and Studio Ghibli movies.”

bbiada@johncabot.edu

Ilenia Reale

Communications Major, Sophomore

Rome, Italy

“I’m obsessed with ‘Hamilton the Musical’ but I’ve never seen it.”

ireale@johncabot.edu

Silvia Valentini

English Literature Major, Senior

Marino, Italy

“When I grow up I want to be a beekeeper.”

svalentini@johncabot.edu


Our Staff Writers

Julissa Castro

Political Science Major, Sophomore

El Progreso, Honduras

“I want to go backpacking across Asia.”

Caterina Fassina

Political Science and Communications Major, Senior

Milan, Italy

“I fall asleep while listening to press releases.”

cfassina@johncabot.edu

Giulia Leo

English Literature and Communications Major, Junior

Bari, Italy

“I have a huge Harry Styles poster in my living room.”

gleo@johncabot.edu

Kitty Welsh

International Affairs Major, Junior

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

“I love to ski!”

kwelsh@johncabot.edu

Arianna Zomparelli

International Affairs Major, Sophomore

Rome, Italy

“If you ever see me listening to “Cellophane” on repeat, please mind your business.”

azomparelli@johncabot.edu


Our Advisor

Professor Elizabeth Macias-Gutiérrez

Newspaper Supervisor and Editor

Department of Communications

Torreón, Mexico

emaciasgutierrez@johncabot.edu


Graduated Members




Visit our contact page for updates on the roles you can apply for.

The Matthew does not cover JCU events. For news and events about our university go to What’s New at JCU