Our Team

We are a group of volunteers, passionate about writing on issues that matter. Our international team includes students across majors, interests and disciplines involved on a semesterly and yearly basis during our studies at JCU.  

Our structure is made up of the board, which includes the president, vice president, editor in chief, head of editors, webmaster, vice webmaster, and treasurer. Our members include staff writers, copy editors, layout designers, and special contributors.

Our team is advised and supervised by a JCU professor.


Meet the Board

Giulia Leo

President

English Literature and Communications Major, Senior

Bari, Italy

“I have a huge Harry Styles poster in my living room.”

gleo@johncabot.edu

Julissa Castro-Ruiz

Head of Editors

Political Science Major, Junior

El Progreso, Honduras

“Mission in life, become a polyglot.”

jcastroruiz@johncabot.edu

Arianna Zomparelli

Treasurer

International Affairs Major, Sophomore

Rome, Italy

“If you ever see me listening to “Cellophane” on repeat, please mind your business.”

azomparelli@johncabot.edu

Giada Gavazzi

Vice Webmaster

Communications Major, Senior

Aprilia, Italy

“If you like Elton John, we can be friends.”

ggavazzi@johncabot.edu

Ilenia Reale

Editor in Chief

Communications Major, Junior

Rome, Italy

“I’m obsessed with ‘Hamilton the Musical’ but I’ve never seen it.”

ireale@johncabot.edu

Matilde Pozzato

Vice President

International Affairs Major, Junior

Aosta, Italy

“Ain’t no mountain high enough.”

mpozzato@johncabot.edu

Francesca Cucuzza

Webmaster

Marketing Major, Senior

Rome, Italy

“I’m 24/7 with my earphones on, or playing background music in my head.”

fcucuzza@johncabot.edu


Copy Editors & Staff Writers

Marouso Pappas

Copy Editor

Communications Major, Freshman

Athens, Greece

“The only way to make sense out of change is to plunge into it, move with it, and join the dance.”

marouso.pappas21@johncabot.edu

Alice Finno

Staff Writer

Communications Major, Junior

Rome, Italy

“I’m in love with Van Gogh’s paintings”

afinno@johncabot.edu

Nicole Di Maria

Staff Writer

International Affairs Major, Sophomore

Mazara Del Vallo, Sicily, Italy

“I’m a hopeless romantic and I love writing poems about whatever comes to my mind.”

nicoledimaria02@gmail.com

Neddie Clews

Staff Writer

Communications Major, Freshman

Portland, Maine, USA

“I always am trying new things, whether it’s a new activity a new food or moving to a new country!”

Nsclews123@gmail.com

Arianna Lopez

Staff Writer

International Affairs Major, Junior

Rome, Italy

“I spend all my time making playlists on spotify, drinking tea and forgetting everything I shouldn’t have forgotten about.”

Violeta Shereen Nanutti

Staff Writer

Communications Major, Junior

El Salvador

“My vocabulary is strictly Spanglish”

vnanutti@johncabot.edu

Leila Baez

Staff Writer

Communications Major, Senior

New Jersey, USA

“Did you know finding things boring is a gift? It means, one day, you’ll go out and change them!”

lbaez@johncabot.edu

Sara Segat

Copy Editor

Communications Major, Sophomore

Turin, Italy

“I’m probably shorter than what I look like.”

sara.segat21@johncabot.edu

Victoria Vega

Copy Editor

International Affairs Major, Freshman

Miami, Florida

“Isn’t it wonderful.”

victoria.vega21@johncabot.edu

Erika Macrina

Staff Writer

Communications Major, Senior

Rome, Italy

“I like people who smile when it’s raining.”

emacrina@johncabot.edu

Marica Loffreda

Staff Writer

Double Degree in Communications and International Affairs, Senior

Rome, Italy

“My favorite things in the world are my dog, music, and a good cappuccino.”

mloffreda@johncabot.edu

Jacopo Menichincheri

Copy Editor

Economics and Finance Major, Junior

Rome, Italy

“An interesting conversation is always welcome”

jmenichincheri@johncabot.edu


Our Advisor

Professor Elizabeth Macias-Gutiérrez

Newspaper Supervisor and Editor

Department of Communications

Torreón, Mexico

emaciasgutierrez@johncabot.edu


Ex-Members




Visit our contact page for updates on the roles you can apply for.

The Matthew does not cover JCU events. For news and events about our university go to What’s New at JCU