Our Team

We are a group of volunteers, passionate about writing on issues that matter. Our international team includes students across majors, interests and disciplines involved on a semesterly and yearly basis during our studies at JCU.  

Our structure is made up of the board, which includes the president, editor in chief, and social media manager. Our members include staff writers, copy editors, layout designers, a podcast team, and special contributors.

Our team is advised and supervised by a JCU professor.


Meet the Board

Giulia Leo

President

English Literature and Communications Major, Senior

Bari, Italy

“I have a huge Harry Styles poster in my living room.”

gleo@johncabot.edu

Leila Baez

Vice President

Communications Major, Senior

New Jersey, USA

“Did you know finding things boring is a gift? It means, one day, you’ll go out and change them!”

lbaez@johncabot.edu

Julissa Castro Ruiz

Head of Editors

Political Science Major, Junior

El Progreso, Honduras

“Mission in life, become a polyglot.”

jcastroruiz@johncabot.edu

Arianna Zomparelli

Treasurer

International Affairs Major, Sophomore

Rome, Italy

“If you ever see me listening to “Cellophane” on repeat, please mind your business.”

azomparelli@johncabot.edu

Razvan Valentin Moldovan

Secretary

Marketing & Communications Major, Sophomore

Măcin, Romania

“Fear is stupid. So are regrets.”

valentinmoldovan2103@icloud.com

Ilenia Reale

Editor in Chief

Communications Major, Junior

Rome, Italy

“I’m obsessed with ‘Hamilton the Musical’ but I’ve never seen it.”

ireale@johncabot.edu

Matilde Pozzato

Vice President

International Affairs Major, Junior

Aosta, Italy

“Ain’t no mountain high enough.”

mpozzato@johncabot.edu

Francesca Cucuzza

Webmaster

Marketing Major, Senior

Rome, Italy

“I’m 24/7 with my earphones on, or playing background music in my head.”

fcucuzza@johncabot.edu

Giada Gavazzi

Vice Webmaster

Communications Major, Senior

Aprilia, Italy

“If you like Elton John, we can be friends.”

ggavazzi@johncabot.edu


Copy Editors & Staff Writers

Martina Angeli

Copy Editor

International Affairs Major, Sophomore

Rome, Italy

“If I’m nowhere to be found it means that I’m either reading, watching tv series or making hot chocolate.”

martina.angeli21@johncabot.edu

Marouso Pappa

Copy Editor

Communications Major, Freshman

Athens, Greece

“The only way to make sense out of change is to plunge into it, move with it, and join the dance.”

marouso.pappas21@johncabot.edu

Alice Finno

Staff Writer

Communications Major, Junior

Rome, Italy

“I’m in love with Van Gogh’s paintings”

afinno@johncabot.edu

Erika Macrina

Staff Writer

Communications Major, Senior

Rome, Italy

“I like people who smile when it’s raining.”

emacrina@johncabot.edu

Silvia Valentini

Copy Editor

English Literature Major, Senior

Marino, Italy

“When I grow up I want to be a beekeeper.”

svalentini@johncabot.edu

Sara Segat

Copy Editor

Communications Major, Sophomore

Turin, Italy

“I’m probably shorter than what I look like.”

sara.segat21@johncabot.edu

Thomas Loynd

Copy Editor

Marketing Major, Junior

Los Angeles, CA

“The brave don’t live forever, but the cautious don’t live at all.”

Victoria Vega

Copy Editor

International Affairs Major, Freshman

Miami, Florida

“Isn’t it wonderful.”

victoria.vega21@johncabot.edu


Our Advisor

Professor Elizabeth Macias-Gutiérrez

Newspaper Supervisor and Editor

Department of Communications

Torreón, Mexico

emaciasgutierrez@johncabot.edu


Ex-Members




Visit our contact page for updates on the roles you can apply for.

The Matthew does not cover JCU events. For news and events about our university go to What’s New at JCU